Professional Liability

Protecting reputational assets

Overview

As a professional, your reputation is your most valuable asset. When allegations of professional liability and errors and omissions place that asset at risk, MG+M can help. From architects, engineers, and construction managers to insurance agents and carriers, our attorneys have defended professionals in numerous high-risk cases across the United States.

Our extensive trial experience helps us quickly and thoroughly evaluate every claim against you, looking at the facts, the law, and the contracts. We understand that in most cases, the best resolution is an early one, and we excel at finding innovative ways to make claims disappear without undue expense and publicity. When alternatives are not workable, or when you want to take a stand at trial, we are prepared to represent you aggressively at every stage.

Claims prevention—going the extra mile
In addition to defending you against specific claims, we work closely with you to reduce the overall risk of a claim ever being filed. At the outset of a project, we can analyze contracts and suggest ways to minimize your exposure and limit or transfer liability. In addition, we can conduct seminars and training at your offices on claim prevention and damage control. By taking a proactive approach, we can often help you avoid professional liability claims and their impact on your reputation and earnings.

Caring partners who put you first
From the beginning to the end of your case, we treat you as an equal partner in decision-making and strategy.  We make sure on day one that you fully understand the risks, and that we fully understand your goals. We communicate with you frequently and clearly about the status of your case, changes in tactics and strategy, and projected expenses. Most important, we are committed to doing what is in your best interest, not accruing courtroom or billable hours.

Team
Associate
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2803
Abigail P.
Adams
aadams@mgmlaw.com
Managing Partner
Wilmington, DE
302 504 6802
Amaryah K.
Bocchino
abocchino@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8574
Joseph S.
Bussiere
jbussiere@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8557
William H.
Champlin IV
wchamplin@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Wilmington, DE
302 504 6800
Jason A.
Cincilla
jcincilla@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Providence, RI
401 443 2102
Kenneth R.
Costa
kcosta@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Los Angeles, CA
213 694 4204
David
Davidson
ddavidson@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8527
Javier F.
Flores
jflores@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Lake Charles, LA
337 419 1929
David R.
Frohn
dfrohn@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Walnut Creek, CA
925 947 1300
Mary Kay
Glaspy
mglaspy@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Providence, RI
401 443 2106
Kevin W.
Hadfield
khadfield@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8521
John T.
Hugo
jhugo@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8539
Christos I.
Koutrobis
ckoutrobis@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Miami, FL
305 537 3414
Cory D.
Lapin
clapin@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8800
John B.
Manning
jmanning@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8559
Jeffrey C.
McLucas
jmclucas@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Miami, FL
305 537 3413
Russell M.
Pfeifer
rpfeifer@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Walnut Creek, CA
925 947 1300
Carlos K.
Poza
cpoza@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8536
Eric V.
Skelly
eskelly@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8535
Jonathan F.
Tabasky
jtabasky@mgmlaw.com
Associate
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2807
Emily M.
Westfall
ewestfall@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8528
Jennifer A.
Whelan
jwhelan@mgmlaw.com
Results

MG+M represented a high profile attorney in claims brought by a former client alleging legal malpractice for inadequately disclosed investment decisions and mismanagement of assets resulting in the loss of $34 million.  MG+M performed an exhaustive review of the investment portfolio’s many assets created by the client for the benefit of the plaintiff.  Following extensive discovery pertaining to the scope of our representation and MG+M’s client’s practice, the parties resolved the matter for an amount well within the available insurance proceeds. 

Obtained a favorable ruling on a motion for summary judgment for a structural engineer on a public works project on the grounds that the general contractor failed to perform the work in compliance with the structural drawings and specifications.

Obtained dismissal of an insurer’s claim for water damage against the designer of a fire alarm system, by showing that the contract contained a waiver of subrogation provision.

Obtained dismissal with prejudice of an $18 million claim against a California architect by showing that the contractor had decided not to follow the architectural plans and specifications which resulted in water intrusion and mold damage in a hotel in Northern California.

Obtained summary judgment in favor of a California architect on a $1 million claim based on a statute of limitations argument that relied on a contractual manifestation provision contained in the Standard Form AIA Document 201-1997.

Settled a $500,000 negligence claim against a structural engineer for less than the reporting limit, avoiding both potential liability at trial and the requirement to notify the structural engineering board of the settlement.

Successfully defended a design professional in a multi-million dollar case involving claims against our client for alleged cost overruns; and claims by our client for unpaid invoices in connection with the design and installation of a structural detailing at a high school in California. We resolved the dispute by showing that the detailing problem was in the installation, not the design, and were paid 100 percent of the fees owed.