Toxic Tort Liability

Winning strategies for complex cases

Overview

Toxic tort defendants face a unique set of challenges: the complex technical, scientific, and medical information at the heart of claims; the difficulty in explaining causation to laypersons; and the inherently sympathetic nature of injured plaintiffs. The attorneys of MG+M have extensive experience defending these challenging cases for clients across the country. Our approach, developed over decades of toxic tort practice, has brought extraordinary success in obtaining favorable verdicts, dismissals, settlements, and claims reductions.

The right team for each challenge
At MG+M we draw from our resources to create the optimal team for each case. Our firm includes attorneys who have served as National Coordinating Counsel, Regional Counsel, and trial counsel in thousands of toxic tort cases from coast to coast. Many of us have concentrated experience with different legal theories, jurisdictions, and substances—including asbestos, benzene, dust, mold, silica, talc, vinyl chloride, and more. Our “right team” approach ensures efficiency and produces optimal results.

Knowledge is power
We believe a successful defense begins with a sophisticated understanding of the product at issue. We immerse ourselves in learning about the product’s history, science, and role in your operations. We also have access to a roster of acclaimed experts in pulmonology, toxicology, epidemiology, and other key medical and scientific disciplines. Armed with the right information, we are able to develop strong defense strategies and explain complex arguments simply and convincingly.

Aggressive investigation moves the needle
Overcoming the initial sympathy toward toxic tort plaintiffs takes more than scientific evidence. We dig deep to uncover facts that undercut the plaintiff’s credibility. When we can show that a plaintiff did not buy a product when he said he did, or has a criminal record, or demonstrate that a so-called “expert” is biased, we often achieve voluntary dismissals, settlements and favorable verdicts.     

Team
Associate
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2803
Abigail P.
Adams
aadams@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Irvine, CA
949 892 4704
Karen P.
Agelson
kagelson@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Los Angeles, CA
213 694 4209
Hilda A.
Akopyan
hakopyan@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2806
Mary Katherine
Back
mback@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8525
Stephanie M.
Batchelder
sbatchelder@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Wilmington, DE
302 504-6787
Tye C.
Bell
tbell@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New Orleans, LA
504 535 2869
Vikram S.
Bhatia
vbhatia@mgmlaw.com
Managing Partner
Wilmington, DE
302 504 6802
Amaryah K.
Bocchino
abocchino@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Wilmington, DE
302 657 2100
Ryan W.
Browning
rbrowning@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New Orleans, LA
504 535 2878
Helen M.
Buckley
hbuckley@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Miami, FL
305 537 3416
Raúl J.
Chacón Jr.
rchacon@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8557
William H.
Champlin IV
wchamplin@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Irvine, CA
949 892 4669
Michael J.
Christopher
mchristopher@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Wilmington, DE
302 504 6800
Jason A.
Cincilla
jcincilla@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Walnut Creek, CA
925 947 1300
Kevin M.
Clarke
kclarke@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New Orleans, LA
504 535 2874
Natasha A.
Corb
ncorb@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2805
Jennifer A.
Cormier
jcormier@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Providence, RI
401 443 2102
Kenneth R.
Costa
kcosta@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Los Angeles, CA
213 694 4204
David
Davidson
ddavidson@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Irvine, CA
949 892 4666
Eddie B.
Dennis
edennis@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New Orleans, LA
504 535 2868
Amanda L.
Deto
adeto@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8572
Ian A.
Epperson-Temple
iepperson-temple@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8527
Javier F.
Flores
jflores@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Wilmington, DE
302 504 6811
Whitney L.
Frame
wframe@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Lake Charles, LA
337 419 1929
David R.
Frohn
dfrohn@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Wilmington, DE
302 504 6790
Iran J.
Garcia Domenech
ijgarcia@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Providence, RI
401 443 2105
Matthew
Giardina
mgiardina@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Walnut Creek, CA
925 947 1300
Mary Kay
Glaspy
mglaspy@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Walnut Creek, CA
925 947 1300
David M.
Glaspy
dglaspy@mgmlaw.com
Of Counsel
New Orleans, LA
504 535 2873
Michael D.
Goggans
mgoggans@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Miami, FL
305 537 3415
Kaylin S.
Grey
kgrey@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8519
Brian D.
Gross
bgross@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Providence, RI
401 443 2106
Kevin W.
Hadfield
khadfield@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Los Angeles, CA
213 694 4207
Nicole Villalvazo
Harrison
nharrison@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Hattiesburg, MS
601 255 0259
Adam
Hays
ahays@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8323
Christopher P.
Haze
chaze@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8521
John T.
Hugo
jhugo@mgmlaw.com
Associate
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2804
Stephen
Jenkins
sjenkins@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8522
Tracy A.R.
Jolly
tjolly@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2828
Brent M.
Karren
bkarren@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Miami, FL
305 537 3412
Rebecca
Kibbe
rkibbe@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8539
Christos I.
Koutrobis
ckoutrobis@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Miami, FL
305 537 3414
Cory D.
Lapin
clapin@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8504
Thaddeus M.
Lenkiewicz
tlenkiewicz@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2802
Carrie S.
Lin
clin@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Wilmington, DE
302 504-6806
Irina N.
Luzhatsky
iluzhatsky@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8800
John B.
Manning
jmanning@mgmlaw.com
Partner
New Orleans, LA
504 799 0504
Chris O.
Massenburg
cmassenburg@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8516
Daniel P.
McCarthy
dmccarthy@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Irvine, CA
949 892 4665
Sean C.
McGah
smcgah@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8559
Jeffrey C.
McLucas
jmclucas@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8545
Michael F.
McVinney
mmcvinney@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2801
Anthony S.
Miller
amiller@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8548
Shannon M.
O'Neil
soneil@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Miami, FL
305 537 3421
Lucia V.
Pazos
lpazos@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8544
Marisa K.
Pearson
mpearson@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Wilmington, DE
302 504 6789
Nicholas D.
Picollelli
npicollelli@mgmlaw.com
Partner
New Orleans, LA
504 535 2880
Jeanette S.
Riggins
jriggins@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New Orleans, LA
504 535 2879
Meghan B.
Senter
msenter@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8536
Eric V.
Skelly
eskelly@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Miami, FL
305 537 3419
Stephanie M.
Spritz
sspritz@mgmlaw.com
Partner
New Orleans, LA
504 799 0502
Max
Swetman
mswetman@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8535
Jonathan F.
Tabasky
jtabasky@mgmlaw.com
Partner
New Orleans, LA
504 799 0505
Brandie M.
Thibodeaux
bthibodeaux@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Irvine, CA
949 892 4702
Tina
Van Dam
tvandam@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Los Angeles, CA
213 694 4206
Lindsay
Weiss
lweiss@mgmlaw.com
Associate
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2807
Emily M.
Westfall
ewestfall@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8528
Jennifer A.
Whelan
jwhelan@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New Orleans, LA
(504) 535-2872
Adam D.
Whitworth
awhitworth@mgmlaw.com
Of Counsel
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2811
Kristi L.K.
Young
kyoung@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8567
Alexander L.
Zodikoff
azodikoff@mgmlaw.com
Insights