Products Liability

Champions for products

Overview

With billions of dollars in actual and reputational damages on the line, the world’s most iconic brands turn to MG+M to help them defend their most complex products liability cases. Working in all 50 states, and at every level of state and federal courts, we develop novel, successful strategies that minimize risk and avoid liability.

Diverse experience, united front
Our experience spans a wide array of consumer and industrial products, including automobiles, engines, food products, heavy equipment, medical devices, pharmaceuticals, power tools, recreational vehicles, and sailboats. While each of our offices can independently handle any products liability matter, we freely share institutional knowledge and resources across our entire firm. This unified approach creates efficiencies, innovation, and success for our clients.

Courtroom veterans
MG+M is a firm of true trial attorneys, all with thousands of hours of experience arguing cases before judges and juries. Although the vast majority of our cases resolve before trial, if yours does not you can be confident that we are prepared to take it all the way through to verdict.

First-hand intelligence
We believe the key to understanding a product (and its potential liability) is understanding how it is made and used. Through our work in cases nationwide, we’ve become skilled at learning from inventors, engineers, mechanics, longshoremen, construction workers, and others who have hands-on experience with the products at issue. We go onsite to meet with them and to examine manufacturing processes and construction sites up close. These boots-on-the-ground investigations often uncover information that is pivotal in defending and resolving cases.

Out-of-the-box strategies
MG+M is a national thought leader in the defense of complex products liability actions. Our creative strategies run the gamut from challenging witness credibility and product identification, to taking advantage of differences in the laws of varying jurisdictions. We search for every possible advantage, and are unafraid to develop and pursue novel approaches—to the frequent benefit of our clients.

Team
Associate
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2803
Abigail P.
Adams
aadams@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Los Angeles, CA
213 694 4209
Hilda A.
Akopyan
hakopyan@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2806
Mary Katherine
Back
mback@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8525
Stephanie M.
Batchelder
sbatchelder@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Wilmington, DE
302 504-6787
Tye C.
Bell
tbell@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New Orleans, LA
504 535 2869
Vikram S.
Bhatia
vbhatia@mgmlaw.com
Managing Partner
Wilmington, DE
302 504 6802
Amaryah K.
Bocchino
abocchino@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Wilmington, DE
302 657 2100
Ryan W.
Browning
rbrowning@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New Orleans, LA
504 535 2878
Helen M.
Buckley
hbuckley@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8574
Joseph S.
Bussiere
jbussiere@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Miami, FL
305 537 3416
Raúl J.
Chacón Jr.
rchacon@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8557
William H.
Champlin IV
wchamplin@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Irvine, CA
949 892 4669
Michael J.
Christopher
mchristopher@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Wilmington, DE
302 504 6800
Jason A.
Cincilla
jcincilla@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Walnut Creek, CA
925 947 1300
Kevin M.
Clarke
kclarke@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New Orleans, LA
504 535 2874
Natasha A.
Corb
ncorb@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2805
Jennifer A.
Cormier
jcormier@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Providence, RI
401 443 2102
Kenneth R.
Costa
kcosta@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Los Angeles, CA
213 694 4204
David
Davidson
ddavidson@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New Orleans, LA
504 535 2868
Amanda L.
Deto
adeto@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8572
Ian A.
Epperson-Temple
iepperson-temple@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8527
Javier F.
Flores
jflores@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Wilmington, DE
302 504 6811
Whitney L.
Frame
wframe@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Lake Charles, LA
337 419 1929
David R.
Frohn
dfrohn@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Wilmington, DE
302 504 6790
Iran J.
Garcia Domenech
ijgarcia@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Providence, RI
401 443 2105
Matthew
Giardina
mgiardina@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Walnut Creek, CA
925 947 1300
David M.
Glaspy
dglaspy@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Walnut Creek, CA
925 947 1300
Mary Kay
Glaspy
mglaspy@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Miami, FL
305 537 3415
Kaylin S.
Grey
kgrey@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8519
Brian D.
Gross
bgross@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Providence, RI
401 443 2106
Kevin W.
Hadfield
khadfield@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Los Angeles, CA
213 694 4207
Nicole Villalvazo
Harrison
nharrison@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Hattiesburg, MS
601 255 0259
Adam
Hays
ahays@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8323
Christopher P.
Haze
chaze@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8521
John T.
Hugo
jhugo@mgmlaw.com
Associate
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2804
Stephen
Jenkins
sjenkins@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8522
Tracy A.R.
Jolly
tjolly@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2828
Brent M.
Karren
bkarren@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Miami, FL
305 537 3412
Rebecca
Kibbe
rkibbe@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8539
Christos I.
Koutrobis
ckoutrobis@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Miami, FL
305 537 3414
Cory D.
Lapin
clapin@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8504
Thaddeus M.
Lenkiewicz
tlenkiewicz@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2802
Carrie S.
Lin
clin@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Wilmington, DE
302 504-6806
Irina N.
Luzhatsky
iluzhatsky@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8800
John B.
Manning
jmanning@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Miami, FL
305-537-3417
Gustavo A.
Martinez Tristani
gmartinez@mgmlaw.com
Partner
New Orleans, LA
504 799 0504
Chris O.
Massenburg
cmassenburg@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Providence, RI
401 443 2103
Edward O.
Mazzaferro Jr.
emazzaferro@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8516
Daniel P.
McCarthy
dmccarthy@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Irvine, CA
949 892 4665
Sean C.
McGah
smcgah@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8559
Jeffrey C.
McLucas
jmclucas@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8545
Michael F.
McVinney
mmcvinney@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2801
Anthony S.
Miller
amiller@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8548
Shannon M.
O'Neil
soneil@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Walnut Creek, CA
925 953 9918
Rupa
Patel
rpatel@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Miami, FL
305 537 3421
Lucia V.
Pazos
lpazos@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8544
Marisa K.
Pearson
mpearson@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Miami, FL
305 537 3413
Russell M.
Pfeifer
rpfeifer@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8554
René M.
Pickett
rpickett@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Wilmington, DE
302 504 6789
Nicholas D.
Picollelli
npicollelli@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Walnut Creek, CA
925 947 1300
Carlos K.
Poza
cpoza@mgmlaw.com
Partner
New Orleans, LA
504 535 2880
Jeanette S.
Riggins
jriggins@mgmlaw.com
Associate
San Francisco, CA
925 947 1300
Ashley N.
Rippolone
arippolone@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New Orleans, LA
504 535 2879
Meghan B.
Senter
msenter@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Walnut Creek, CA
925 947 1300
Daniel
Shevtsov
dshevtsov@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8536
Eric V.
Skelly
eskelly@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Miami, FL
305 537 3419
Stephanie M.
Spritz
sspritz@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8355
Meredith I.
Stivers
mstivers@mgmlaw.com
Partner
New Orleans, LA
504 799 0502
Max
Swetman
mswetman@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8535
Jonathan F.
Tabasky
jtabasky@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco, CA
(415) 527 2810
Thomas J.
Tarkoff
ttarkoff@mgmlaw.com
Partner
New Orleans, LA
504 799 0505
Brandie M.
Thibodeaux
bthibodeaux@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Irvine, CA
949 892 4702
Tina
Van Dam
tvandam@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Los Angeles, CA
213 694 4206
Lindsay
Weiss
lweiss@mgmlaw.com
Associate
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2807
Emily M.
Westfall
ewestfall@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8528
Jennifer A.
Whelan
jwhelan@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New Orleans, LA
(504) 535-2872
Adam D.
Whitworth
awhitworth@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8567
Alexander L.
Zodikoff
azodikoff@mgmlaw.com
Results

Convinced a severely injured plaintiff to voluntarily dismiss his action against a global product manufacturer by developing evidence that a) the plaintiff would be unable to prove our client manufactured the product at issue; and b) the plaintiff’s employer misused the product. 

Convinced an insurer not to file a potentially multi-million dollar subrogation claim against a machine-tool company by conducting an investigation that showed the machine at issue failed due to user error, not product defect.

Negotiated the tender of defense and indemnification from the insurer for our client, an industrial jack manufacturer, to the actual manufacturer of the jacks involved in a fatal construction site accident.  Upon receiving the case we immediately went onsite to evaluate potential risk and gather information about the jacks, their operation and the warnings provided to users, which helped us convince the other manufacturer’s insurer to accept the tender.

Obtained complete dismissal of seven-figure claims against a chemical manufacturer by a downstream seller whose product repeatedly failed due to alleged defects in a component our client supplied. We successfully removed the case to federal court and moved to dismiss based on a federal doctrine that prohibits recovery in tort when a product defect causes damage to the product itself, resulting in economic loss, but does not cause personal injury or damage to other property.

On August 20, 2018, the First Circuit Louisiana Court of Appeal granted a summary judgment dismissal of MG+M’s client, reversing the prior denial of summary judgment by the trial court. The product liability case concerned a motorcycle helmet which allegedly came off plaintiff’s head as he was thrown through the air after colliding his motorcycle with a left turning motorist’s vehicle. The claim centered around enhanced injuries as a result of the helmet coming off his head due to an alleged defect in the design of the chin strap. The Court held that plaintiff had failed to produce factual support sufficient to establish whether MG+M’s client was the deemed manufacturer of the helmet within a particular definition of manufacturer under the Louisiana Products Liability Act.

Successfully moved for severance and judgment on the pleadings in an action against a global specialty pharmaceutical company by analyzing the judicial pool, negotiating a proposed list of judges who would be inclined to consider our severance and preemption motions, and convincing the court to assign the cases to one such judge.

Insights