Class Action Litigation

Managing risk in complex cases

Overview

MG+M takes an aggressive approach to protecting clients against the dangers of class action litigation. We understand the risk class actions pose to your reputation, operations, and bottom line, and we tirelessly pursue the result that will allow your business to move forward.   

A track record of success
Employing both substantive and legal defenses, our attorneys have successfully resolved high-profile cases involving health care, consumer fraud, unfair business practices, breach of warranty, and food and beverage labeling, among others. Whether by defeating class certification, winning dispositive motions, or pursuing discovery strategies that reveal weaknesses in the plaintiff’s case, we seek cost-effective, business-focused solutions.

MG+M has extensive class action litigation experience defending small, mid-size and large corporations, including Nike, Cole Haan, Zipcar, Sodexo, Marriott, and U.S. Tobacco. The types of class action cases have varied, including federal and state statutes, such as the Sherman Act, Clayton Act, Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (“HIPPA”), Telephone Consumer Protection Act (“TCPA”), Fair and Accurate Credit Transactions Act (“FACTA”), and various state consumer protection statutes.

National resources that meet your needs
Our national footprint lets us quickly assemble teams to handle discovery and court appearances anywhere in the United States. We draw on the full resources of the firm to assign attorneys with the right experience for each case.

Team
Partner
San Francisco
415 527 2803
Abigail P.
Adams
aadams@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco
415 527 2806
Mary Katherine
Back
mback@mgmlaw.com
Managing Partner
Wilmington
302 504 6802
Amaryah K.
Bocchino
abocchino@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston
617 670 8574
Joseph S.
Bussiere
jbussiere@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Wilmington
302 504 6800
Jason A.
Cincilla
jcincilla@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston
617 670 8621
Erika
Doherty
edoherty@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston
617 670 8546
Howard P.
Goldberg
hgoldberg@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Miami
305 537 3415
Kaylin S.
Grey
kgrey@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston
617 670 8519
Brian D.
Gross
bgross@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Providence
401 443 2106
Kevin W.
Hadfield
khadfield@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco
415 527 2828
Brent M.
Karren
bkarren@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco
415 527 2802
Carrie S.
Lin
clin@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston
617 670 8800
John B.
Manning
jmanning@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston
617 670 8504
Ryan M.
Murphy
rmurphy@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Irvine
949 892 4703
Karen M.
Sullivan
ksullivan@mgmlaw.com
Partner
New Orleans
504 799 0502
Max
Swetman
mswetman@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Los Angeles
213 694 4206
Lindsay
Weiss
lweiss@mgmlaw.com
Results

Assisted a food manufacturer to develop a plan for navigating food labeling requirements, reducing the client’s risk of misrepresentation and false labeling claims.

Defeated class certification in potential multi-million dollar health care consumer fraud action, then resolved for exceptionally favorable value during the appeal.   

Obtained multiple dismissals on behalf of a national health information management company in consumer protection litigation related to the amount that client could charge for production of health records.

Insights