Toxic Tort Liability

Winning strategies for complex cases

Overview

Toxic tort defendants face a unique set of challenges: the complex technical, scientific, and medical information at the heart of claims; the difficulty in explaining causation to laypersons; and the inherently sympathetic nature of injured plaintiffs. The attorneys of MG+M have extensive experience defending these challenging cases for clients across the country. Our approach, developed over decades of toxic tort practice, has brought extraordinary success in obtaining favorable verdicts, dismissals, settlements, and claims reductions.

The right team for each challenge
At MG+M we draw from our resources to create the optimal team for each case. Our firm includes attorneys who have served as National Coordinating Counsel, Regional Counsel, and trial counsel in thousands of toxic tort cases from coast to coast. Many of us have concentrated experience with different legal theories, jurisdictions, and substances—including asbestos, benzene, dust, mold, silica, talc, vinyl chloride, and more. Our “right team” approach ensures efficiency and produces optimal results.

Knowledge is power
We believe a successful defense begins with a sophisticated understanding of the product at issue. We immerse ourselves in learning about the product’s history, science, and role in your operations. We also have access to a roster of acclaimed experts in pulmonology, toxicology, epidemiology, and other key medical and scientific disciplines. Armed with the right information, we are able to develop strong defense strategies and explain complex arguments simply and convincingly.

Aggressive investigation moves the needle
Overcoming the initial sympathy toward toxic tort plaintiffs takes more than scientific evidence. We dig deep to uncover facts that undercut the plaintiff’s credibility. When we can show that a plaintiff did not buy a product when he said he did, or has a criminal record, or demonstrate that a so-called “expert” is biased, we often achieve voluntary dismissals, settlements and favorable verdicts.     

Team
Associate
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2803
Abigail P.
Adams
aadams@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Los Angeles, CA
213 694 4209
Hilda A.
Akopyan
hakopyan@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2806
Mary Katherine
Back
mback@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Chicago, IL
312 625 4993
Alexander J.
Baker
abaker@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8525
Stephanie M.
Batchelder
sbatchelder@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5164
Anne Marie
Beckerle
abeckerle@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Wilmington, DE
302 504-6787
Tye C.
Bell
tbell@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New Orleans, LA
504 535 2869
Vikram S.
Bhatia
vbhatia@mgmlaw.com
Managing Partner
Wilmington, DE
302 504 6802
Amaryah K.
Bocchino
abocchino@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Wilmington, DE
302 657 2100
Ryan W.
Browning
rbrowning@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New Orleans, LA
504 535 2878
Helen M.
Buckley
hbuckley@mgmlaw.com
Partner
New York, NY
929 378 4800
Bernadette W.
Catalana
bcatalana@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Miami, FL
305 537 3416
Raúl J.
Chacón Jr.
rchacon@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Wilmington, DE
302 504 6800
Jason A.
Cincilla
jcincilla@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Walnut Creek, CA
925 947 1300
Kevin M.
Clarke
kclarke@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5327
Kenneth R.
Cloyd
kcloyd@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New Orleans, LA
504 535 2874
Natasha A.
Corb
ncorb@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2805
Jennifer A.
Cormier
jcormier@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Providence, RI
401 443 2102
Kenneth R.
Costa
kcosta@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5332
Robert C.
Creighton
rcreighton@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Los Angeles, CA
213 694 4204
David
Davidson
ddavidson@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New York, NY
929 378 4800
Robert E.
Demeusy
rdemeusy@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Los Angeles, CA
213 694 4207
Eddie B.
Dennis
edennis@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New Orleans, LA
504 535 2868
Amanda L.
Deto
adeto@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5306
Lindsay A.
Dibler
ldibler@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5326
Katie E.
Doherty
kdoherty@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8572
Ian A.
Epperson-Temple
iepperson-temple@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Providence, RI
401 443 2108
Cristina M.
Esposito
cesposito@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5304
David J.
Fisher
dfisher@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New York, NY
929 378 4800
Ashley P.
Foote
afoote@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Lake Charles, LA
337 419 1929
David R.
Frohn
dfrohn@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Chicago, IL
312 625 4994
Pamela R.
Gamble
pgamble@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Providence, RI
401 443 2105
Matthew
Giardina
mgiardina@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Walnut Creek, CA
925 947 1300
David M.
Glaspy
dglaspy@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Walnut Creek, CA
925 947 1300
Mary Kay
Glaspy
mglaspy@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Miami, FL
305 537 3415
Kaylin S.
Grey
kgrey@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8519
Brian D.
Gross
bgross@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Providence, RI
401 443 2106
Kevin W.
Hadfield
khadfield@mgmlaw.com
Associate
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2776
Haley L.
Hansen
hhansen@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Hattiesburg, MS
601 255 0259
Adam
Hays
ahays@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8323
Christopher P.
Haze
chaze@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8521
John T.
Hugo
jhugo@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8522
Tracy A.R.
Jolly
tjolly@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2828
Brent M.
Karren
bkarren@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Miami, FL
305 537 3412
Rebecca
Kibbe
rkibbe@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8539
Christos I.
Koutrobis
ckoutrobis@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5301
John J.
Kurowski
jkurowski@mgmlaw.com
Of Counsel
Madison County/St. Louis
618 277 5500
Joseph M.
Kurowski
joekurowski@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5323
Elizabeth
Kurowski
ekurowski@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5303
Candice C.
Kusmer
ckusmer@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Wilmington, DE
302 504 6804
William B.
Larson
wlarson@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5165
Stephen M.
Lillis
slillis@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2802
Carrie S.
Lin
clin@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Wilmington, DE
302 504-6806
Irina N.
Luzhatsky
iluzhatsky@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8800
John B.
Manning
jmanning@mgmlaw.com
Partner
New Orleans, LA
504 799 0504
Chris O.
Massenburg
cmassenburg@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8516
Daniel P.
McCarthy
dmccarthy@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Irvine, CA
949 892 4665
Sean C.
McGah
smcgah@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8559
Jeffrey C.
McLucas
jmclucas@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8545
Michael F.
McVinney
mmcvinney@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5333
Timothy J.
Meyer
tmeyer@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2801
Anthony S.
Miller
amiller@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New York, NY
929 378 4800
Karina E.
Murski
kmurski@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New York, NY
929 378 4800
Austin D.
O'Malley
aomalley@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8548
Shannon M.
O'Neil
soneil@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Miami, FL
305 537 3421
Lucia V.
Pazos
lpazos@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8433
Katharine S.
Perry
kperry@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Wilmington, DE
302 504 6789
Nicholas D.
Picollelli
npicollelli@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New York, NY
929 378 4800
Arian
Prelvukaj
aprelvukaj@mgmlaw.com
Of Counsel
San Francisco, CA
Karen L.
Prodromo
kprodromo@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5322
Edward T.
Reilly
ereilly@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5325
Justin A.
Reinhardt
jreinhardt@mgmlaw.com
Partner
New Orleans, LA
504 535 2880
Jeanette S.
Riggins
jriggins@mgmlaw.com
Partner
New York, NY
929 378 4800
Syed K. (Zim)
Rizvi
zrizvi@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5329
Matthew L.
Sauerwein
msauerwein@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2804
Daniel P.
Schrader
dschrader@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New Orleans, LA
504 535 2879
Meghan B.
Senter
msenter@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5324
Joshua N.
Severit
jseverit@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5305
Kyler H.
Stevens
kstevens@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5328
Kevin M.
Stockmann
kstockmann@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Irvine, CA
949 892 4703
Karen M.
Sullivan
ksullivan@mgmlaw.com
Partner
New Orleans, LA
504 799 0502
Max
Swetman
mswetman@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8535
Jonathan F.
Tabasky
jtabasky@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2810
Thomas J.
Tarkoff
ttarkoff@mgmlaw.com
Partner
New Orleans, LA
504 799 0505
Brandie M.
Thibodeaux
bthibodeaux@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5320
Addison M.
Thiel
athiel@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Chicago, IL
312 625 4992
Mark I.
Tivin
mtivin@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5162
Timothy P.
Tryniecki
ttryniecki@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Irvine, CA
949 892 4702
Tina
Van Dam
tvandam@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Miami, FL
305 537 3425
William A.
Volet
wvolet@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Los Angeles, CA
213 694 4206
Lindsay
Weiss
lweiss@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Irvine, CA
949 892 4670
Andrew S.
Wellman
awellman@mgmlaw.com
Associate
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2807
Emily M.
Westfall
ewestfall@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8528
Jennifer A.
Whelan
jwhelan@mgmlaw.com
Of Counsel
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2811
Kristi L.K.
Young
kyoung@mgmlaw.com
Insights