Toxic Tort Liability

Winning strategies for complex cases

PDF
Overview

Toxic tort defendants face a unique set of challenges: the complex technical, scientific, and medical information at the heart of claims; the difficulty in explaining causation to laypersons; and the inherently sympathetic nature of injured plaintiffs. The attorneys of MG+M have extensive experience defending these challenging cases for clients across the country. Our approach, developed over decades of toxic tort practice, has brought extraordinary success in obtaining favorable verdicts, dismissals, settlements, and claims reductions.

The right team for each challenge
At MG+M we draw from our resources to create the optimal team for each case. Our firm includes attorneys who have served as National Coordinating Counsel, Regional Counsel, and trial counsel in thousands of toxic tort cases from coast to coast. Many of us have concentrated experience with different legal theories, jurisdictions, and substances—including asbestos, benzene, dust, mold, silica, talc, vinyl chloride, and more. Our “right team” approach ensures efficiency and produces optimal results.

Knowledge is power
We believe a successful defense begins with a sophisticated understanding of the product at issue. We immerse ourselves in learning about the product’s history, science, and role in your operations. We also have access to a roster of acclaimed experts in pulmonology, toxicology, epidemiology, and other key medical and scientific disciplines. Armed with the right information, we are able to develop strong defense strategies and explain complex arguments simply and convincingly.

Aggressive investigation moves the needle
Overcoming the initial sympathy toward toxic tort plaintiffs takes more than scientific evidence. We dig deep to uncover facts that undercut the plaintiff’s credibility. When we can show that a plaintiff did not buy a product when he said he did, or has a criminal record, or demonstrate that a so-called “expert” is biased, we often achieve voluntary dismissals, settlements and favorable verdicts.     

Team
Partner
San Francisco
415 527 2806
Mary Katherine
Back
mback@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Chicago
312 625 4993
Alexander J.
Baker
abaker@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Los Angeles
213 694 4218
Farah A.
Ballout
fballout@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston
617 670 8525
Stephanie M.
Batchelder
sbatchelder@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5224
John D.
Beckham
jbeckham@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Wilmington
302 504-6787
Tye C.
Bell
tbell@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New Orleans
504 535 2869
Vikram S.
Bhatia
vbhatia@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Chicago
618 607 5214
Alex P.
Blair
ablair@mgmlaw.com
Managing Partner
Wilmington
302 504 6802
Amaryah K.
Bocchino
abocchino@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New Orleans
504 620 3044
Alexandra D.
Bourbon
abourbon@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New Orleans
504 535 2873
Matthew J.
Braquet
mbraquet@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Wilmington
302 657 2100
Ryan W.
Browning
rbrowning@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Chicago
618 607 5198
Michael H.
Cantieri
mcantieri@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New York
212 364 2301
Uri S.
Carni
ucarni@mgmlaw.com
Partner
New York
212 364 2302
Bernadette W.
Catalana
bcatalana@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New York
212 364 2315
Joseph
Celotto
jcelotto@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Miami
305 537 3416
Raúl J.
Chacón Jr.
rchacon@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Wilmington
302 504 6800
Jason A.
Cincilla
jcincilla@mgmlaw.com
Partner
New Orleans
504 535 2874
Natasha A.
Corb
ncorb@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco
415 527 2805
Jennifer A.
Cormier
jcormier@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Providence
401 443 2102
Kenneth R.
Costa
kcosta@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5332
Robert C.
Creighton
rcreighton@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Chicago
312 754 2488
Anthony
Danhelka
adanhelka@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New York
929 378 4800
Andrew W.
Dean
adean@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New Orleans
504 535 2868
Amanda L.
Deto-Sloan
adeto@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New Orleans
504 535 2882
Diana
Dilday
ddilday@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston
617 670 8621
Erika
Doherty
edoherty@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston
617 670 8310
Elizabeth A.
Doyle
edoyle@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5304
David J.
Fisher
dfisher@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Los Angeles
213 694 4204
John
Flynn
jflynn@mgmlaw.com
Partner
New Orleans
337 842 2500
David R.
Frohn
dfrohn@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Chicago
312 625 4994
Pamela R.
Gamble
pgamble@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Walnut Creek
925 947 1300
Mary Kay
Glaspy
mglaspy@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Walnut Creek
925 947 1300
David M.
Glaspy
dglaspy@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Los Angeles
213 694 4205
David R.
Gold
dgold@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Miami
305 537 3415
Kaylin S.
Grey
kgrey@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston
617 670 8519
Brian D.
Gross
bgross@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Providence
401 443 2106
Kevin W.
Hadfield
khadfield@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco
415 527 2776
Haley L.
Hansen
hhansen@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco
415 527 2763
Stephen V.
Harrington
sharrington@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Hattiesburg
601 255 0259
Adam
Hays
ahays@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Chicago
618 607 5223
Aerial I.
Henderson
ahenderson@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston
617 670 8521
John T.
Hugo
jhugo@mgmlaw.com
Partner
New York
212 364 2311
Anna
Hwang
ahwang@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Chicago
618 607 5204
William R.
Irwin
wirwin@mgmlaw.com
Of Counsel
Los Angeles
213 694 4214
Charles W.
Jenkins
cjenkins@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston
617 670 8522
Tracy A.R.
Jolly
tjolly@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco
415 527 2828
Brent M.
Karren
bkarren@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Miami
305 537 3412
Rebecca
Kibbe
rkibbe@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Chicago
618 607 5206
Dragana
Kovacevic
dkovacevic@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Chicago
618 607 5197
Timothy L.
Krippner
tkrippner@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5323
Elizabeth
Kurowski
ekurowski@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5301
John J.
Kurowski
jkurowski@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5303
Candice C.
Kusmer
ckusmer@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston
617 670 8304
Caroline B.
Lapish
clapish@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Wilmington
302 504 6804
William B.
Larson, Jr.
wlarson@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Miami
305 537 3447
Monika
Ledlova
mledlova@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco
415 527 2802
Carrie S.
Lin
clin@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Wilmington
302 504-6806
Irina N.
Luzhatsky
iluzhatsky@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston
617 670 8800
John B.
Manning
jmanning@mgmlaw.com
Partner
New York
504 799 0504
Chris O.
Massenburg
cmassenburg@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston
617 670 8516
Daniel P.
McCarthy
dmccarthy@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Irvine
949 892 4669
Sean C.
McGah
smcgah@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston
617 670 8559
Jeffrey C.
McLucas
jmclucas@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston
617 670 8545
Michael F.
McVinney
mmcvinney@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Chicago
618 607 5217
Cindy L.
Medina-Cervantes
cmedina-cervantes@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5333
Timothy J.
Meyer
tmeyer@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco
415 527 2801
Anthony S.
Miller
amiller@mgmlaw.com
Associate
San Francisco
415 527 2760
Sarah J.
Mojarro
smojarro@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston
617 670 8303
Marissa L.
Morte
mmorte@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston
617 670 8504
Ryan M.
Murphy
rmurphy@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Miami
305 537 3426
Emma
Nunn
enunn@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Miami
305 537 3421
Lucia V.
Pazos
lpazos@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston
617 670 8433
Katharine S.
Perry
kperry@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Chicago
312 754 2496
Daniel J.
Powell
dpowell@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New York
212 364 2300
Arian
Prelvukaj
aprelvukaj@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New Orleans
504 620 3043
Mary A.
Reed
mreed@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5325
Justin A.
Reinhardt
jreinhardt@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New Orleans
504 620 3054
Danielle M.S.
Riera
driera@mgmlaw.com
Partner
New Orleans
504 535 2880
Jeanette S.
Riggins
jriggins@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Chicago
618 607 5200
Emily A.
Sample
esample@mgmlaw.com
Associate
San Francisco
415 527 2781
Carmen D.
Sandgren
csandgren@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5329
Matthew L.
Sauerwein
msauerwein@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco
415 527 2804
Daniel P.
Schrader
dschrader@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Los Angeles
213 694 4203
Dane W.
Schrader
dwschrader@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Miami
Stephanie M.
Selman
sselman@mgmlaw.com
Partner
New Orleans
504 535 2879
Meghan B.
Senter
msenter@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5324
Joshua N.
Severit
jseverit@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Walnut Creek
925-953-9940
Kime H.
Smith
ksmith@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Chicago
312 754 2486
Nathaniel
Spilman
nspilman@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5305
Kyler H.
Stevens
kstevens@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5328
Kevin M.
Stockmann
kstockmann@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Irvine
949 892 4703
Karen M.
Sullivan
ksullivan@mgmlaw.com
Partner
New Orleans
504 799 0502
Max
Swetman
mswetman@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston
617 670 8535
Jonathan F.
Tabasky
jtabasky@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Irvine
949 892 4666
Deborah J.
Taddeucci
DTaddeucci@mgmlaw.com
Partner
New Orleans
504 799 0505
Brandie M.
Thibodeaux
bthibodeaux@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Chicago
312 625 4992
Mark I.
Tivin
mtivin@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Chicago
618 607 5187
Christopher K.
Triska
ctriska@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Irvine
949 892 4702
Tina
Van Dam
tvandam@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Chicago
618 607 5221
Andrea
Walsh
awalsh@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New Orleans
212 364 2318
Kelsey
Warren
kwarren@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Los Angeles
213 694 4206
Lindsay
Weiss
lweiss@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston
617 670 8528
Jennifer A.
Whelan
jwhelan@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Wilmington
302-504-6786
Yuhanna V.
Whye
ywhye@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco
415 527 2811
Kristi L.K.
Young
kyoung@mgmlaw.com
Insights