Construction Litigation

Built for success

Overview

Construction disputes are among the most complex, high-stakes commercial litigation matters, potentially involving millions of dollars in liability as well as damage to valued reputations and relationships. MG+M’s skilled team protects the interests of the world’s largest owners, contractors, and subcontractors in critical cases involving major construction projects nationwide.

National coverage for high-stakes conflicts
Our attorneys have extensive experience litigating multimillion-dollar construction claims throughout the United States. We represent you vigorously in every forum and at every stage, from pre-litigation investigations to settlement negotiations, motion practice, arbitration, trials, and appeals. Working closely with your team, we develop and execute best-for-business strategies in breach of contract, building delay, cost overrun, fraudulent invoice, and other construction disputes.

Valuable industry knowledge
Although most construction contracts are dense with detailed timelines, punch lists, and other details, successful litigation outcomes rely on understanding what is truly at the heart of the dispute. We save you time and money by focusing on the main conflict instead of getting bogged down in side questions that prolong disputes and raise legal fees. Because we’ve worked with the construction industry for decades, we understand which issues are worth litigating and which should be resolved through negotiation. And, as more and more construction stakeholders submit disputes to arbitration, our focus on pivotal issues often brings favorable rulings from panels charged with finding fair, efficient solutions.

Fully invested in our clients
Our attorneys are deeply invested in achieving the best possible outcomes for your business. We seek to earn your trust, not only as advisors, but also as dedicated business partners. To that end, we pride ourselves on frequent, candid communication and on total accessibility whenever you need us.

Team
Associate
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2803
Abigail P.
Adams
aadams@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Chicago, IL
312 625 4993
Alexander J.
Baker
abaker@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8574
Joseph S.
Bussiere
jbussiere@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Walnut Creek, CA
925 947 1300
Kevin M.
Clarke
kclarke@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Los Angeles, CA
213 694 4204
David
Davidson
ddavidson@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Los Angeles, CA
213 694 4207
Eddie B.
Dennis
edennis@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New Orleans, LA
504 535 2868
Amanda L.
Deto
adeto@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Madison County/St. Louis
618 607 5306
Lindsay A.
Dibler
ldibler@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Providence, RI
401 443 2108
Cristina M.
Esposito
cesposito@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Walnut Creek, CA
925 947 1300
David M.
Glaspy
dglaspy@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Walnut Creek, CA
925 947 1300
Mary Kay
Glaspy
mglaspy@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Providence, RI
401 443 2106
Kevin W.
Hadfield
khadfield@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8521
John T.
Hugo
jhugo@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New York, NY
212 364 8311
Anna
Hwang
ahwang@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2828
Brent M.
Karren
bkarren@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Boston, MA
617 670 8800
John B.
Manning
jmanning@mgmlaw.com
Partner
New Orleans, LA
504 799 0504
Chris O.
Massenburg
cmassenburg@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Boston, MA
617 670 8545
Michael F.
McVinney
mmcvinney@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Walnut Creek, CA
925 953 9918
Rupa
Patel
rpatel@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Miami, FL
305 537 3421
Lucia V.
Pazos
lpazos@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Walnut Creek, CA
925 947 1300
Carlos K.
Poza
cpoza@mgmlaw.com
Partner
New Orleans, LA
504 535 2880
Jeanette S.
Riggins
jriggins@mgmlaw.com
Partner
San Francisco, CA
415 527 2804
Daniel P.
Schrader
dschrader@mgmlaw.com
Associate
New Orleans, LA
504 535 2879
Meghan B.
Senter
msenter@mgmlaw.com
Partner
Irvine, CA
949 892 4703
Karen M.
Sullivan
ksullivan@mgmlaw.com
Partner
New Orleans, LA
504 799 0502
Max
Swetman
mswetman@mgmlaw.com
Associate
Irvine, CA
949 892 4670
Andrew S.
Wellman
awellman@mgmlaw.com
Results

Facilitated settlement of a  multimillion-dollar dispute between partners in a joint venture energy transmission line project with massive cost overruns.

Represented a power company client in an arbitration involving alleged project delays and failure to pay invoices of approximately $17 million.

Represented a subcontractor in a construction dispute involving nine solar photovoltaic sites on Cape Cod and Martha’s Vineyard.

Successfully negotiated a pre-litigation settlement on behalf of a roofing company that was owed millions of dollars in unpaid invoices by a general contractor that had threatened the roofing company with tens of millions of dollars in liquidated damage claims.